Today, the world found out another of its cherished rock and roll icons has passed away.  Glenn Frey, founding member of the Eagles, has passed away due to a lethal combination of illnesses.  I must admit, possibly at the expense of my own ridicule by the hipsters of the world, that Glenn’s death hit me a lot harder than David Bowie’s did.  I was never a big Bowie fan, but I love me some Eagles.

Most Eagles songs I really like.  A few have been overplayed, as is true of any classic rock radio staple, but remain great nonetheless.  There are a few stinkers in there, like everyone with a career as long as theirs.  But there are few Eagles songs that I LOVE.  Forget the Beatles, these guys could write songs.  “I Can’t Tell You Why,” “Take It To The Limit,” “One of These Nights,” all brilliant work.  “Hotel California” too is an amazing piece of music.  How many songs do you know where the progression is 8 chords long and includes both A major and A minor, without a trace of irony?

Please join me tonight in toasting a drink of your choice to the memory of Glenn Frey, and a bucket list item that will go unchecked.

Rest in peace, Glenn.  You were one of the good ones.

 

“You know I’ve always been a dreamer
And it’s so hard to change
But the dreams I’ve seen lately
Keep on turnin’ out, and burnin’ out,
And turnin’ out the same

So put me on the highway
Show me a sign
And take it to the limit one more time.”

Leave a Reply

